Flirting

Flirting is a great mystery to me. I neither understand it nor see it. Not only do I not see if someone is flirting with me, I don’t even know when I’m doing something others would consider flirting. When it comes to flirting, I’m completely blind.

Some of it might be inexperience, but some of it is also the fact that I have a hard time believing that anyone would flirt with me. (Low self-esteem, much?) When I’m in a situation where I think there might be a possibility that someone is flirting, I consider it carefully and then end up with a: “Nah, surely not. Why would she?” It’s better to believe that no one is flirting and be wrong, than to believe that someone is flirting, and be wrong.

It’s not a conscious thought either; it’s just the way it is. “No one is flirting, don’t get your hopes up, move along now.”

Of course, it’s a bit worse when I don’t realize that I’m flirting myself. I might talk to someone I like, and later stop and consider if I was flirting or not, without really figuring it out.

(You should know when you do these things, right?)

I have a feeling flirting should be fun, but unless I know what’s actually going on, it’s more bewildering than anything else.

Leave a Reply

